Bonne Année: 2010

Bonne Année 2010.  Another year, and hopefully an opportunity for a new awakening. For me 2010 marks my first decade in the work world, and the story has not be full of joy. If anything, the past decade has been full of challenges. Much of my work life in particular has been full of ups and downs and I feel that I never really found my groove.

I do know one thing: I love writing.

I celebrated the coming of 2010 in a Parisian Metro sitting next to an old woman who gleamed: “Bonne Anne” at me and melted my heart. As I looked at my watch to confirm the time, the driver announced over the PA system that the new year had come. I mulled over the event of my last day of 2009 with a squint over my face. The last day of 2009 found me flying from Africa (Johennesburg) to Europe (Paris) via the Middle East (Dubai).

In Dubai, I had a seven-hour lay over, and I spent most of it online, surfing the web, writing emails and looking for jobs. While sitting at the airport a Nigerian couple approached me; they were travelling to Paris for their honeymoon and apparently had failed to book into a hotel.

I found myself having to help them up to the point of looking for a hotel in Montparnasse in Paris; and only headed to my rented apartment in La Defence at about 1130. Anyway, I am looking forward to 2010; I hope that its a year that will bring the realization of dreams that I have held for so long.

In particular, I have a strong desire to get into the publishing industry, and I hope that the new year will open up an oppportunity for me to be able to enter into the industry. I have also spent the past few years mulling over a children’s book titled, “Legend of the Flame Lily”. It is something that I hope to complete in the first quarter of the year so that I can free myself to focus on other projects.

I love writing; and have even called myself a writer in  a number of instances. I would like to continue to cultivate my writing skills, to become more professional with my writing. I need to be more disciplined, more focused, and set myself daily, weekly and monthlytargets.

As 2010 begins, I want to dedicate myself to more writing. During this year, I aim to get published in some major publications. Some of the titles that I am looking at include: The New York Times and Newsweek. To get publishe in these titles will require me to work hard and to put in some time into research and reading.

Whatever the case, 2010 is here, and with come opportunities that are waiting to be unearthed. I therefore intend to make this year my best ever.

Leave a Reply

