Why I Write

By Chief K.Masimba Biriwasha

Harare, Zimbabwe – FROM an early age, I was always fascinated by the power of words. I remember scratching my head and scrounging around for words to describe pictures that I cut out of magazines and pasted into my writing notebook, marking my first baby steps into the crazy world of writing. The urge to write came to me like a mysterious calling: I come alive in words.

As the years have ripened round, I am fully convinced in the power of language to shift our landscape. There is an inherent power in language to either kill or destroy. How I choose to write though is primarily to learn and discover the marvelous world around me.

Writing helps me to find my true self, it helps to free my imagination. In a world, it helps me to open up my spirit to the beauty and madness of life. Sometimes though, I just write for sheer joy of seeing words gyrate, sway and dance together like butterflies under the sun.

Every piece of writing is an act of digging up, of piercing into the veins of life. It is an affirmation of the voice that the higher power deposited within each and everyone of us: the power to express.

For me, writing is a way to give shape to the world around me; it helps me to build my world in pictures that are tangible. So in a way, writing helps me to cope with an ever increasingly temporal universe.

It is my first real contact with the grayness of the world; it’s some form of meditation so to speak that let me get in touch with my essential self. When I write, I have to pause and listen to the silent voice that speaks to me from the depths of my being. It’s almost a spiritual exercise that certainly revives me, and prepares me to face the multiple volcanoes of the universe.

I write because the voice within yearns to speak, and I can also create multiple worlds in my head. Whether its poetry or a short story, it transports to a magical universe where impossible is nothing.

Leave a Reply

