Why I Don’t Do New Year’s Resolutions

English: New Year's Day postcard mailed in 190...

English: New Year’s Day postcard mailed in 1909. It reads: “A New Year’s Resolution / Jan. 1st / Good Resolution / Each resolution that I make / My conscience surely troubles / Because I find they always break / As easy as Soap bubbles” (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I decided to dump New Year’s resolutions a year ago. I find all the hullabaloo about New Year’s resolution making an energy sap.

At the end of the year, a big psychological bubble descends and for that time, resolution making goes vogue to only amount in a clatter.

The prospect of a New Year produces such herd instinct in resolution making; having been sheepishly a part of this game, I’m glad I now the smoke has cleared and I see things differently: I don’t do New Year’s resolutions no more.

Not so long ago, setting big, audacious, hair-raising goals was my forte, and of course, these goals were supposed to radically transform my life. At least, that how I saw it. It’s something I relished: I felt connected to all the resolution makers around me and in the greater world.

One New Year’s eve, I drafted some goals, including quitting fizzy drinks, smoking and candy, going to the gym, jogging in the mornings and reading. I was determined to turn a new page in the New Year, but a minute past midnight, I found myself lighting up a ciggy, comforting myself that the resolution would be in place as soon as the sun rose.

Call it weak mindedness, but I’m not alone in this department. Only a few people keep their resolutions. According to a University of Scranton research just 8 per cent of people achieve their New Year’s goals.

Now, after a string of numerous failures, I am more resigned to making resolutions everyday, with room for tweaks as my life slowly unfolds. Unlike the specter of big, bold goals that promise a nirvana of change, I’m comfortable with taking things step by step. Having failed so many times to live up to my New Year’s resolutions, I am convinced now that easy does it.

I am more conscious now that a new year does not bring with it a magic wand that makes goals come true whether written or not. A goal can be made on any day of the year, every hour, every minute, every second – in fact, every breath of life is an opportunity to make your life better.

If its really worth pursuing, a true resolution cannot be tied to a single day. A true resolution is one that you can fail at a minute past midnight but if you have true conviction, in the next minute you’ll dust-up yourself and pursue it again. A true resolution is based on perseverance and dedication – it’s not a fad.

I’m a bit wiser now to know that it’s so much a new year that makes a resolution work: every day is an opportunity to make your life the way you want it to be. You cannot make a new year’s resolution if you don’t consider the daily hassle that you’ll have to undergo to make it. When I made goals in the past, it was about the goal in itself.

Somehow new year brought a psychological conviction that the goal will be achieved this time but, of course, it was soon broke. True resolutions have to be worked a day at a time.

In fact, I daresay, everyday is a chance to grow anew. And every new day, you do a little bit more than you did yesterday, a little bit better, a little bit more effectively. With consistency, the little bits of effort collectively amount to a bid, audacious goal.

So rather than make, big, audacious, hairy resolutions, I have decided to keep it simple. I’ll stay within the confines of the moment. I’ll live true to my soul, spirit and mind within every breath and nothing makes for a greater resolution than that.

2 thoughts on “Why I Don’t Do New Year’s Resolutions

  1. This is an honesty piece chief. I have struggled to keep up with structured new year resolutions. You hardly stick to them, rather life is like an onion, you peal one layer at a time.

  2. Pingback: Year-end Resolutions | Club 30

Leave a Reply

